The worst consequence of a DUI offense is the loss of your driving privileges. After a DUI conviction in Tampa, FL, you’ll need to find a way to get your driver’s license back. Even though driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a criminal offense in Florida, it is challenging to get your driver’s license back after a conviction.
To prove the criminal conduct, the state would have shown beyond a reasonable doubt that you were driving the automobile while impaired by alcohol or drugs. Before you may be convicted of an alcohol DUI, the state must establish that your blood alcohol level was 0.08 or above. With the assistance of an expert DUI attorney, you may be able to get the Florida DUI penalties and charges dropped or reduced, but your driving privileges may be restricted.
Reinstatement of your driver’s license will be determined mostly by the number of prior DUI offenses on your record. Here is a breakdown of the fees connected with recovering your driving privileges from the first to the second time you have been convicted of a traffic violation.
DUI Offender for the First Time
If you are a DUI first offender, your driver’s license may be suspended. If the DUI crime also includes a charge of causing significant injury to another person or party, your license may be suspended for up to three years. Fortunately, before the suspension term expires, you may always file for a hardship driver’s license.
Additionally, the conviction may require that the defendant complete a drug abuse treatment program or a DUI school program. In this scenario, you must finish the courses within 90 days after being reinstated. If you do not complete the course by the specified deadline, your license will be suspended until you do. Before your license may be completely restored, you must pass a state test.
Additionally, there are many costs that you will need to pay. For example, you’ll pay a $75 revocation cost, a $130 administrative fee, and a $75 introductory licensing price. Additionally, you will be needed to provide evidence of legal vehicle insurance.
Second DUI offender
If you are charged with DUI for the second time within five years after your initial conviction, your driver’s license will be temporarily removed from you for one year. If you commit a second crime within five years of the first, your license will be suspended for five years. After one year, you can apply for a hardship license. However, before your license may be restored, the state mandates that you attend DUI School and a treatment program if required by the court.
Additionally, it would help if you had a favorable reference from the Special Services program. The same processing and administrative fees for the first application will also apply to the second application. At this time, it is critical to see a DUI attorney who will not only analyze your case and circumstances but will also walk you through the process of regaining your license.
In short, prepare to take the state-mandated test to get full reinstatement. Additionally, you will owe expenses, including a $130 administrative charge and a $75 revocation fee. In addition, you may be obliged to pay a fee for a vital licensing requirement.
To regain your license, you must demonstrate that you have automobile insurance. Ascertain that your agency maintains a minimum of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per event for bodily injury liability insurance.
Leave a Reply